Frederick Douglass-Isaac Myers Museum

Frederick Douglas & Isaac Myers Museum

Frederick Douglas & Isaac Myers Museum & Maritime Park

Frederick Douglass-Isaac Myers Museum

DESCRIPTION: Medium-tier historical & cultural museum that includes a maritime park
ADMISSION: $15 and less
DAYS & HOURS: Tue-Sun 10a-5p
ADDRESS: 1417 Thames Street, Baltimore, MD
PARKING: Paid parking on Caroline Street in the PMI garage
PHONE: 410-685-0295

Frederick Douglass-Isaac Myers Museum Review

Founded in 2006 and situated in a prime spot connecting the Inner Harbor East to Fells Point, this 5,000-square feet black heritage site, museum and maritime park merges a modern structure of gallery space with the historic Sugar House. The complex is divided into permanent and temporary galleries and interactive learning centers. The Sugar House building was once owned by Isaac Myers, a free African-American who became a founder of the Chesapeake Marine Railway and Dry Dock Company. As CEO, he employed Frederick Douglass and helmed the largest black-owned business in the 1800s. A section of the museum is devoted to the saga of Frederick Douglass’ life in Baltimore as an enslaved child and young man working in the Eastern shore of Maryland and in the docks of Baltimore. Unfortunately, the white establishment at that time was jealous of the company’s success. So they twisted laws to separate Isaac Myers and his co-owners from the property. But as Dr. Martin Luther King once said, “Truth crushed to earth shall rise again.” Within the historic Sugar House, oldest standing industrial building on the Inner Harbor, lies the Alex Brown Maritime Education Center. A unique feature of the museum is its education programs that teach ship building & repair skills to at-risk youths. Docent led tours are included in the admission.

Center map
Google MapsGet Directions



Close Comments

Share Comments With Fellow Travelers:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *